Thinking of purchasing a new RV or Travel Trailer? … A client can form an LLC in the state of Montana and that new entity can then purchase, register and license a Recreational Vehicle in Montana. Montana has low licensing fees for recreational vehicles. The total savings can be very significant.
Does Montana have sales tax on RVS?
Because Montana has no sale tax on an RV, your only cost is the $1,000 to set up your LLC “business.” That busness technically owns your RV. And your LLC is a Montana corporation.
Can you register an RV in Montana?
Registering an RV in Montana is easier than one might think. You don’t need to go into the local DMV office. Our DMV is the Flathead County DMV and we don’t have a county option tax. We only charge $549 to register your RV with the DMV after we form your LLC for $300 (this does not include the luxury tax).
What state is the cheapest to buy an RV?
As far as purchasing the actual camper, the cheapest states are Arizona, Texas, and Florida. However, registering an RV is cheapest in Montana, and several other states have benefits like no income tax and/or low insurance costs.
How much is RV registration in Montana?
The current Montana annual registration fee for for motor homes is $282.50 for RVs less than 2 years old. As your RV ages, the annual registration fee decreases to the point that at year 11, you can get a permanent tag and stop paying annual fees.
How do I get my RV license in Montana?
How to Title a Motor Vehicle
- Apply at the county treasurer’s office in the county you live in. …
- Present the previous year’s Montana registration receipt or out-of-state title: …
- Once the title process has been completed, you must pay all taxes and fees, and your vehicle will be registered and license plates issued.
Do you have to pay taxes if you live in an RV?
You are generally required to pay taxes on all income to your state of residency. I would recommend talking with a tax expert to help guide you through each state law.
How do you avoid sales tax on an RV?
The easiest way to avoid paying sales tax on a pricey RV is to buy and register it in one of the states that doesn’t have a general sales tax: Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon. However, most states don’t register the vehicles of just anyone who comes along; registrants usually must be residents.
Are LLCs legal in Montana?
An LLC that actually conducts business in the pursuit of a profit is legal everywhere. You don’t even need to set it up in Montana as there are other no-sales-tax states where you can do that (Alaska, Delaware, New Hampshire, Oregon). But Montana promotes the setting up of shell LLCs simply to avoid paying sales taxes.
Can you buy an RV with no money down?
You may need to make a down payment to qualify for an RV loan. … Some lenders don’t even require a down payment. But keep in mind that if you put little or no money down, you could end up owing more on your loan than what the RV is worth. RVs can depreciate in value quickly, especially if you buy a brand-new one.
What is the best month to buy a RV?
Well, the slow season for RV sales begins at the end of September. That said, we recommend waiting until at least October. During October and November, sales nosedive, leading to some pretty good discounts. December and January are even slower, making them the best months for RV shopping.
What states have no sales tax on RVs?
What States Have No Sales Tax on RVs. There are currently five states that have no sales tax at all – Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon. The states with the lowest combined state and local sales tax rates are Hawaii, Wyoming, Wisconsin, and Maine.
What is the best state to register a motorhome?
The best states to buy an RV are Arizona, Texas, and Florida at the start of summer. That’s because many people RV for a bit and then move to houses in these states to retire, creating a large supply of RVs for sale when it starts getting hot.
What is required to register a vehicle in Montana?
What documents do I need to bring with me to title and register my vehicle? You’ll need to bring a valid Montana driver license, proof of insurance, and a form of payment.
What is Montana income tax rate?
Montana Adopts Individual and Corporate Income Tax Reform
|Current Tax Code|